Become a Member

VSGA-VIP Scholarship Foundation

Founded in 1984, the foundation’s purpose is to provide college assistance to students from Virginia with an interest in golf. The VSGA-VIP Scholarship Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization. A portion of the proceeds from VSGA VIP Card sales goes towards funding scholarships. Applications are currently closed for 2024 but will open for 2025 in November.

VIP Scholarship Hero-1

Scholarship Foundation's Impact

The scholarship foundation was established in 1984.
Scholarship Recipients
Since its inception, more than 1,100 students have received an award from the scholarship foundation.
$ 2.8 Million
Awards Given
Since 1984, more than $2.8 million in scholarships have been awarded to Virginia students.
$ 140,000
In Scholarships Last Year
In 2023, 37 students were awarded scholarships totaling $140,000.

Dedicated Scholarships

The VSGA-VIP Scholarship Foundation has seven dedicated scholarship awards, with amounts ranging from $7,500 to $10,000.

C. Dan Keffer Award

Named for the former VSGA scholarship committee chairman Foundation president, this is the Foundation’s highest honor and is presented to each year’s top applicant.

Past award winners
Spencer-Wilkinson Award

Given to the Foundation’s top female applicant, this award is named after the creators of the scholarship, Debbie Spencer and Mary Nell Wilkinson, who both played collegiate golf at the College of William & Mary and are longtime supporters of the Foundation.

Past award winners
David A. King Award

This award was established in 2002 by Mr. King, one of the state’s premier senior amateur golfers and is intended for the top academic performer from each year’s applicant pool.

Past award winners
Red Speigle Award

The Foundation established a scholarship honoring longtime Hampton / Newport News, Va., teaching legend Walter Lashile “Red” Speigle, PGA. A wonderful and engaging ambassador of the game, Speigle dedicated much of his life to furthering golf in the commonwealth. This award is presented to a student from around the Peninsula.

Past award winners
Richard Smith Award

Presented for the first time in 2017, this award is given in memory of the VSGA’s longtime director of competitions and supporter of junior golf to a student that has a strong connection to VSGA events.

Past award winners
Mike Wise Award

Given in partnership with the VSGA and the First Tee – Roanoke Valley, this award benefits a deserving high school senior with ties to that First Tee chapter. The award is named for Mike Wise, a longtime member of the VSGA Board of Directors who had a significant philosophical impact on golf in the Roanoke Valley. 

Past award winners
Military Scholarship

New for 2024, at least one dedicated scholarship will be awarded to a student who is a military dependent. 

Additional Scholarships

In addition to the named dedicated awards, the VSGA-VIP Scholarship Foundation awards individual scholarships in several other categories.

Member Club Support Scholarships

Awards given annually to students who work at a member club or are dependents of a member club employee.

Participation in Golf Scholarships

Awards given annually to applicants who have extensive golf involvement or plan to pursue a career in the golf industry. 

Turfgrass Research Award

The Foundation awards annual scholarships for Turfgrass research to students pursuing study in the science of turfgrass management in the program at Virginia Tech.

Touting the Program

The VSGA scholarship helped me attend Virginia Tech where I earned my degree in Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences, with an emphasis in Turfgrass Management. During my professional career, I have been fortunate to work at many courses and host several professional tournaments in different areas of the country. Some of my stops included The Greenbrier in White Sulphur Springs, WV, Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, TX, Kiawah Island Golf Resort in Charleston, SC, and Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, NY.

Meet This Year's Recipients

2024 Scholarship Recipients

Jakob Beauchamp
Evan Britton
Ayla Browning
Felicity Chen
David A. King Award
Nicholas Crawford
Mike Wise Award
Joel Cunningham
Taylor Davis
Nate Faulkner
C. Dan Keffer Award
Ashley Flood
Clark Xander Goboy
Kylee Graham
Lilly Hall
VSGA Military Scholarship
William Hersey
Blake Hogan
Danielle Kenny
Ryan Kidd
Piper Kingsley
Nolan Konecny
August Lange
Meg Lavinder
Richard Smith Award
Harris Lechtman
Katherine Lindley
Ryan Lloyd
Luke Manno
Trey Marrion
Declan McDonald
Emma McGowan
Red Speigle Award
Matkins Milligan
Uzair Mirza
Josephine Nguyen
Jennifer Osborne
Benjamin Parrack
Jackson Plummer
Leah Rafii
Matthew Santee
Charlotte Sargent
Isaac Scheulen
Tyler Truslow
Katie Vu
Spencer-Wilkinson Award
Grady Williams
Navdeep Godara
Turfgrass Scholarship
Elisabeth Kitchin
Turfgrass Scholarship
Juan Romero
Turfgrass Scholarship
Matthew Tucker
Turfgrass Scholarship

Scholarship Foundation Board of Directors

Joan Gardner
Jack Walker
Somsak Chivavibul
Mason Dirickson
Board Member
Anne Greever
Board Member
Craig Groenendaal
Board Member
Kristine Rohrbaugh
Board Member
Michael Millen
Director Emeritus